It just is.

Over the last week or so, have you said one or all of the following phrases?

“This is too/so hard!”

“Uhhh! Why does this always happen to me?”

“Seriously? Are you kidding me?”

“This is not fair!”

“I can’t do [this]!”

Maybe if you personally haven’t said them, you’ve heard someone else say them or you’ve said them at some point in your life. I totally get it. I’ve said them a million times, too.

Here’s the thing: They are all really powerless phrases.

These kinds of utterances do two things: ​deprive you of your personal power (and responsibility…more on that in a minute), and suggest that LIFE is actually the one in charge.

Life has no capacity to think for itself, no feelings or heart or soul, so how could it possibly be responsible for ANYTHING?

Truthfully, it’s not responsible for anything. But YOU are. Because you have all those things: the ability to think and feel, knowledge (and a capacity to use it), and the power to make things happen. And, it is truly your responsibility to make your life what you want it to be.

Pretty cool if you ask me.

Life is just life. It’s not anything else - fair, unfair, hard, easy, whatever. It just is.

I know that’s kind of a tough pill to swallow. Here’s what I also know, though:

When you really start to live as though you are the one in charge, absolutely incredible things will begin to happen for you.

I am going to tell you how to start to do that right now. Keep reading!

  1. Be grateful for absolutely EVERYTHING. Just do it. What do you have to lose by being thankful?

  2. Surround yourself with positivity. Colors you like, people you like, things you like. You need to have a positive environment to support your mindset.

  3. Create an absolutely Excuse-Free Zone for yourself. I have a sign on the door leading into my house that says “EXCUSE-FREE ZONE”, and you know what? It really is. Frankly, excuses will find you no matter what, even when you feel totally in charge - and you have the right to ignore them.

  4. Change your language. I’m not suggesting you learn a new language (though I did and I love being bilingual). Change the WORDS you use.

Here’s a cool little chart to help you get going:

Change this: “I can’t.”

To this: “I’m learning.”

Change this: “It’s not fair.”

To this: “There’s an awesome lesson in this that’s going to make me wiser and stronger.”

Change this: “Why is this happening?”

To this: “I am or will be thankful for this experience so that when I get through it, I can help others who may go through it, as well.”

Change this: “I’m so confused.”

To this: “This is unfamiliar and I am totally capable of figuring it out.”

You’re the star of the show.

Ready to rock it?

 
7
Kudos
 
7
Kudos

Now read this

Why

I was going to title this, “Why people don’t exercise”, but I wasn’t sure anyone would open it since the mere mention of the word “exercise” sends some people into a flurry of frustration and disgust. (Even me at times, so at a Facebook... Continue →